RSS

John Paul II

12 Mar

Andrew of Unam  Sanctum has a great post on JPII… One i kept coming back to… and the inspiration for this one.

John Paul II has a special place in my heart. Even as a protestant I was drawn to him, respected him, knew him to be a godly man…. just rejected the idea (quite vehemently) that he might have any authority over me. **sheepish cough** What drew me? It wasn’t the words, the letters, or any of the papal ‘stuff’.  It was the images.

John Paul II

The expressions…

JPII and Dove

Images that showed aspects of his character…

JPII Thoughtful

Humility…

JPII Humble

Humor…

JPII Owl Eyes

Gentleness and Affection…

JPII and Baby

He taught us how to forgive…

JPII and Assassin 

Images that resonated.

JPII and Crucifix

Images that spoke louder than words.

JPII at Prayer

Images that taught.

JPII and Eucharist

In the end, he was bowed by the cares of a world…

JPII Bowed

 but never broken…

JPII and Papal Crucifix

 and he taught us how to live, even to the very end.

Truely, this was a man of God… who went to the Father even as he lived…

JPII at Heaven’s Gates

and whom surely was well received…

JPII with Christ

 

 

 

 
27 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2007 in Images, John Paul II, Popes, Saints

 

27 responses to “John Paul II

  1. Shellie

    March 13, 2007 at 12:26 am

    Beautiful. Both yours and Unam Sanctum’s are worthy photo-tributes.

     
  2. Sarah

    March 21, 2007 at 2:06 am

    Wow! Thanks so much for putting this together!

     
  3. faithfulweb

    March 21, 2007 at 9:33 am

    Great collection — the pacing and captions are very effective. Thanks for sharing.

     
  4. Brenda

    May 1, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Wonderful photos! Made tears come to my eyes-even as a Protestant I was drawn to him!

     
  5. Padre Barry

    July 16, 2007 at 9:10 am

    I agree with you. Truly a saint of God. Some of these images bring tears to my eyes, they are that powerful!

     
  6. John

    October 14, 2008 at 1:43 pm

    *sniff* thank you.. i didn’t really know him until after he passed, but now i know how great he was. i think he did something to me at St. Peter’s Basilica. he touched me in a way i can’t explain..

     
  7. Steven B.

    January 17, 2009 at 6:20 am

    very thoughtful, you made a great tribute to a great man, a man of God.

     
  8. Zach and Barbara

    May 10, 2009 at 9:43 pm

    Zach:

    That brought tears to my eyes, I like the picture of JPII kissing the ground before the gates of heaven.

    Barbara:

    I am a cradle Catholic and found your honest and heart-felt comments inspiring. JPII was a great man and an example for us all–not just Catholics.

    Thank you!

     
  9. Alexandra

    November 8, 2009 at 2:51 pm

    I don’t think it was just the catholics and protestants who were drawn to him…I think the world was. Why? Because this man suffered everything we did. He felt every pain and hoy we did. He knew every heart needed God and he was willing to minister to those hearts whether under political, racial, or religigous discrimination. He was a better example to us than some political leaders! He was shot for Pete’s sake. BUt did he make a ordeal? No but what he did do was forgive the man who shot him. Do you have any idea how much strength and humility that took? I don’t believe anyone could but John Paul the Second and God Almighty. This man is the only true role model I have taken from this world…and always will be. God Bless

     
  10. Lois Lane

    November 30, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    The famous photo drew me to this site and I realize how great he actually was. Thank you Pope John Paul ii

     
  11. Bianca Bargas

    February 21, 2010 at 2:11 am

    wow… I cried when he died. He was one of the man I will never forget ’til I die. I really miss him so much loike my grandma. The photos are great, dude XD.. especially the humor one

     
  12. pauloverdi

    March 6, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    His legacy will always be remembered.He touched many lives by his exemplary life.He is a man who touches God even at the point of death.He left a footprint on earth.A Man so loved by all.He is a pope who knows how to pope.His lesson of humility will never be forgotten.

     
  13. Phinx

    March 11, 2010 at 7:35 am

    Really… I miss him a lot… *sigh*
    He showed us how to loves those who hate us, he showed us that peace is really can be acquired in this universe (and he did it in action, not just talk)
    I love you, my ‘angel’ :D

     
    • Barbara

      June 14, 2010 at 8:23 pm

      I agree with you, and the world seemed so much better with Pope John Paul II in it…I saw him at Shea Stadium…I can still remember how it was raining so very hard and the moment he came on Stage the Sun came out!!!!…And the crowd roared!!!!…I can still remember his smile. He is missed so very much!!

       
  14. Litah

    March 24, 2010 at 6:45 am

    He was the most amazing man, He is surely missed

     
  15. Denise

    April 18, 2010 at 9:31 pm

    Thank you so very much! I have loved Pope John Paul since I was little girl even though I was not Catholic then. (I am now!) I knew when I was only eleven years old that he was truly a man of God. He was the one who inspired me to want to know God. Thank you so very much!

     
  16. Ann

    June 13, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    I am a teenage catholic girl. I was born during the papacy of John Paul II and I love that fact. He was just an awesome man. I’m just starting to learn about him more but these pictures brought tears to my eyes. I, a 5th grader at the time, wept when he died. But I know he’s in heaven talking to Jesus. I like to pray to him. He had a great faith & I wish I could live up to his image. He was a beautiful person. My favorite picture was the humorous one! That made me giggle!

     
  17. Barbara

    June 14, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    How very beautiful…as I scrolled through the photo’s, tears came to my eyes. He was such a loving man and in his face, you could see the face of God. I miss him so very much. I feel that he was God’s gift to the earth as he was loved by all people of all faiths and nations

     
  18. kristine joy

    June 24, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    thank you, pope john paul.. b’cuz u gve a chance again to theism.. u r a good servant… we love you…

     
  19. John Paul

    October 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm

    GREAT, Beyond words!!!!!!

     
  20. John Jordan

    January 15, 2011 at 10:08 pm

    I saw Pope John Paul II at his summer home in the mountains near Rome back in 1981 and it was one of the greatest moments of my life. When he came out on the balcony to speak to a small crowd of perhaps 500 people, everyone started crying. I can’t explain it, but he had that effect of making you feel like you were in the presence of God – but please don’t take that as my casting him as a deity, he wouldn’t like that at all. I just mean that you felt like God was all around you when you were in his presence. I can’t explain it, but 500 people were crying before he said one word. What a great leader he was, and truly deserving of Sainthood. My wife’s most precious possession is a rosary blessed by him.

     
  21. malachy

    February 10, 2011 at 11:12 am

    To me he was the greatest human being that ever lived.Each picture tells a story.

     
  22. Nancy Ekman

    March 31, 2011 at 11:01 am

    This Pope had a golden aura surrounding him, so pure of faith and heart was he….

     
  23. tink*

    May 3, 2011 at 9:47 pm

    i was touched by your photos of blessed john paul II. when i was little, i thought popes all looked the same. and then i realized that the photos of the “popes” i was looking at were of john paul IIs!

    John Paul THE GREAT, indeed!

    btw, i was touched by the fact that there are so many catholic converts around here!

     
  24. Christian_Brother

    September 18, 2011 at 8:42 am

    i am not a Catholic but i admire Pope John Paul II.
    He is a true Christian indeed because he is a man of peace and of love. He practiced what he preached, and made an example of how it is to be Alter Christus. Only a few have ever been like him, including Pope John XXIII. Christendom of this generation is blessed to witness a true servant of God and restorer of Christian unity.

    To God be the Glory!

     
  25. catherine

    February 14, 2012 at 4:12 am

    he was a good teacher through action.blessed jp2 pray for us

     
  26. Tram

    November 18, 2012 at 6:55 am

    I love Pope John Paull II. He inspires me. Pope John Paull II please pray for us and for my family. We love you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

