RSS

Not Driven to Despair…

21 Sep

Last week in Adoration I was reading an editorial in my September Magnificat on the Jubilee Year of the Apostle Paul, specifically regarding Saint Paul and the Cross of Christ.  Honestly, I don’t remember much from it because some scripture that was quoted grabbed me, struck me with wonder, and that was the end of that.

Gal 2: 19-20a  For through the law I died to the law,  that I might live for God. I have been crucified with Christ; yet I live, no longer I, but Christ lives in me;

2 Cor 4: 6-11  For God who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” has shone in our hearts to bring to light the knowledge of the glory of God on the face of (Jesus) Christ. But we hold this treasure in earthen vessels, that the surpassing power may be of God and not from us. We are afflicted in every way, but not constrained; perplexed, but not driven to despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed; always carrying about in the body the dying of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may also be manifested in our body. For we who live are constantly being given up to death for the sake of Jesus, so that the life of Jesus may be manifested in our mortal flesh.

 While our circumstances are normalizing, my mind and heart are not.  It is as though I have undergone a very fundamental ‘sea change’ and, to mix metaphors, have not my sea legs as yet.  I wish I had the words to share what these verses are to me… but there seems to be a growing silence and stillness within that steals the words from me.  So I leave them here for you in the hopes that you will also find the treasure in them.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on September 21, 2008 in Adoration, Suffering

 

3 responses to “Not Driven to Despair…

  1. Tami

    September 22, 2008 at 10:43 am

    Treasure found and much appreciated. Thank you.

     
  2. Amanda

    March 9, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    Same experience for me last week,on a different meditation. But the verses you qoute are something I have been living, through daily life and meditation on the Passion of Christ these last months. It is beyond words…yes…

     
  3. Anne

    March 9, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    My thoughts and prayers will be with you Amanda. Have you ever heard the song “Let All Mortal Flesh Keep Silence”? There is a good version of it on iTunes by Fernando Ortega on his Storm album that has become my mantra. It was very meaningful during that time, and also during my silent retreat… and now just playing it can take me back there, to that quiet, silent, prayerful place.

    AMDG,
    Anne

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

